Taobao Order Review (4/1/13)

Hiya, folks, sorry these are so few and far between! But I plan to do a review on TaobaoNow soon, and I have another order coming in soon so I should be posting slightly more frequently!

Since this is a small, shitty order, I’ll put everything in one post.

First off, a Star-Shaped Purse from Loris!

o bby

It’s a good, sturdy bag, much better than the one I got from Dream of Lolita. The pleather material doesn’t scratch or scuff easily at all. Despite being stuffed into the shipping box rather roughly and haphazardly, it bent back into shape with little issue.

The bag is lined with a very cute, patterned material:

The zipper moves smoothy, and the zipper pull is strong, so hopefully it won’t be a repeat of the last purse I got.  I also purchased this purse in Black, and the two have the same level of quality, unlike the next two products…

Overall Score: 10/10

Next up are the two blouses I purchased from this store.

Now, if I had taken half a second to look at this store, I would have realized it’s something terribly similar to Dream of Lolita. However, I was blinded by the thrill of finding blouses with sleeves that would fit the length of my gorilla arms and excitedly added them to my order at the last minute.

On to the Shirts.

I’m reviewing both because, despite supposedly being the same shirt, the quality between the two varies dramatically.

The lesser of of the two is up first.

At a glance, it seems pretty harmless.

But then the lace.

screaming internally

And the collar doesn’t sit right, despite my best efforts.

Hover collar is a wardrobe essential for a hover loli.

My favorite part of this shirt though, by far, is the bow.

oh boy

If your first thought was ‘Is that just a bit of stitched fabric tied in a bow?’ you’re sadly correct. But wait! It has a pin on the back!

GOD

DAMMIT

Since I haven’t had a tetanus booster in a bit, I decided to leave it be.

On to the black shirt.

The black shirt is superior every way. Even the main material is better quality.

The lace is better:

And the collar sits just fine, too!

At a distance, the bow doesn’t look much better.

On the bright side, the pin doesn’t make me afraid of getting lock-jaw.

I dunno what da fucks up with this shop. I can understand differences in construction quality, but the random, different materials throws me.

Overall Score on the Black Shirt: 8/1o

Overall Score on the White Shirt: No/10

Starry Hair Snaps

I came across these when looking for two-way star brooches, and I’m so happy I did!

These things are amazingly cute! They’re small, though, easily able to fit on top of a dime. Unfortunately, they were so small that the photos I took of the singular one all came out blurry.

Overall Score: 9/10

Up next, blue shoes from AnTaiNa!

I have these shoes in several colors. I really like how simple they are.

The shoes almost look a bit marbled up close, though it wouldn’t show up in any of my shots.

The only thing I had a problem with was the inside of the shoe was lumpy, almost like the connection between the sole and the heel is pushing through.

Also, there appears to be a chunk taken out of one of the heels.

hrm.

I’m just glad it’s not terribly noticeable.

Overall Score: 8/1o

I FINALLY got the headbands to go with my Starry Night Angel JSKs ( I caved and got it in the Lavender Colorway)!

They’re great! There’s wire in the bows, so you can adjust them to the shape and fluffiness that you prefer.

The lace is wonderful as usual.

They also glued plastic gems onto the silver stars. Though they had a bit too much fun on the Navy one…

…and not enough on the Lavender.

oops.

They also stitched their label onto the back of the bow.

Some might find it off-putting, but I think it’s kinda cute.

aaaaand, a better shot of the Lavender:

Overall Score: 10/10

Fuzzy Star hairpins:

These cuties were a bit smaller than I thought they would be (Quarter to show scale), and they shed all over the damn place when I first pulled them out of their packaging. They seem pretty swell otherwise.

Overall Score: 7/1o

Finally, the horror story of this order: The Wig.

This wig, so I thought, would wonderfully compliment my Navy Starry Night Angel Coord. While I was right in theory, the real result left a lot to be desired.

As soon as I took it out of the bag, it began to tangle. I removed the buns on top, only to find they were hanging because the stylist of the wig had knotted and snarled and twisted and rubber-banded the hair attatched to the unexpected skintop. Being horrified, I removed it immediately, hence the curls framing the face.

Even after treating it with oil sheen spray, the wig would tangle if you looked at it the wrong way.

What takes the cake, though, is the buns.

It looked alright at first, but on closer inspection.

is that…

it’s glue. the buns are put together with hot glue.

this wig needs Jesus.

Overall Score: 5/1o

Leave a comment